Ultimate dungeon terrain inspiration

Do you have a question or a suggestion about how to best utilize Dwarven Forge's products? Please post it here.
hiddenmanna
Kobold
Kobold

Ultimate dungeon terrain inspiration

Post by hiddenmanna » Wed Mar 10, 2021 4:02 pm

I'm very new to dwarven forge and considering the best way to utilize it for my purposes. I recently saw the YouTube channel dungeoncraft talk about his ultimate dungeon terrain idea. Basically using your terrain as more of a theater instead of building full rooms or dungeons even. So it's basically floor tiles and dressings. I thought this could be a really interesting idea and save me some money and time.

I'd like your thoughts on how potentially to do this with dwarven forge and whether it would be worth it. I'm about to run lost mines of phandelver. Thinking I could do a bunch of different floor tiles from a variety of different terrains and then just use scatter terrain and potentially doors to signal where exits are but not use any walls. I could get a few terrain trays and essentially just set up a little platform on top.

Thoughts? Recommendations on which sets to get?

Oldent
Minotaur Lord
Minotaur Lord

Re: Ultimate dungeon terrain inspiration

Post by Oldent » Wed Mar 10, 2021 4:56 pm

OldmanWillow AKA OldEnt. Customer and fan from 1996 onward!

dice4hire
Minotaur Lord
Minotaur Lord

Post by dice4hire » Thu Mar 11, 2021 1:12 am

I made a build like this a long time ago. Here are a few pics
Game Setup Feb 27 2015 J.JPG
Game Setup Feb 27 2015 J.JPG (158.47 KiB) Viewed 1247 times
Game Setup Feb 27 2015 K.JPG
Game Setup Feb 27 2015 K.JPG (173.04 KiB) Viewed 1247 times
Game Setup Feb 27 2015 L.JPG
Game Setup Feb 27 2015 L.JPG (183.54 KiB) Viewed 1247 times
That idea could certainly make things a lot easier in a purchasing way for you though I do see some problems.