Citadel Paint works now?

Do you have a question or a suggestion about how to best utilize Dwarven Forge's products? Please post it here.
Drossy

Citadel Paint works now?

Post by Drossy » Sat Nov 07, 2020 10:53 am

Hi All,

I'm new to Dwarven Forge, but having pledged for Wildlands, I seem to be all in and also picked up a few sets in the October restock, which got delivered this week. As I'm wincing at the shipping costs already I've gone unpainted, and while I know the painting guide doesn't recommend Citadel/Games Workshop paints as they turn out "tacky"; as I already had some, I thought I'd sacrifice a couple of pieces as an experiment...and they seem to work okay:
IMG_0185.jpg
IMG_0185.jpg (94.83 KiB) Viewed 3333 times
(with unpainted pieces for reference, I will hopefully improve at drybrushing over time :) )

This is using XV-88 for the accent stones and Terminatus Stone for the drybrush as they seemed to be the closest match between the painting videos and what I owned, directly onto unprimed Dwarvenite. They don't feel sticky to the touch to me - has anyone else found this or will I hit problems with larger areas of paint? I wonder whether GW has reformulated their paints since the painting page was written.

Trollface
Orc
Orc

Re: Citadel Paint works now?

Post by Trollface » Sat Nov 07, 2020 11:24 am

The concern is not citadel brush on paints, but spray on primer.
many spray primers contain propellants that interact badly with the abs
plastics. You can get the same issue with reaper bones.

Cheers

kodiakbear
Minotaur Lord
Minotaur Lord

Post by kodiakbear » Sat Nov 07, 2020 10:12 pm

Trollface wrote: Sat Nov 07, 2020 11:24 am The concern is not citadel brush on paints, but spray on primer.
many spray primers contain propellants that interact badly with the abs
plastics. You can get the same issue with reaper bones.

Cheers
I could be wrong but I think you mean PVC plastic.

Trollface
Orc
Orc

Post by Trollface » Sun Nov 08, 2020 1:33 am